Research Guides: GEDU502 Meeting the Needs of All Learners in School Counseling: How to find scholarly articles

How to find scholarly articles

You CAN search Google or Google Scholar and find lots of journal articles available. But a library database allows you to target your subject with more precision AND is more likely to give you access to the full text of the article you identify without running into a publisher paywall. Library databases are also more likely to include ONLY high quality, authoritative publications. With Google, it can be hard to tell which journals are most important to experts and which are secondary.

These are some of the best databases to use to support your work in this class and in your school counseling academic career.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for all education researchers.
Education (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Provides the complete full-text of about three dozen education journals. All aspects of education are included and all articles are available with full-text.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text on all American Psychological Association journal publications--approximately 50 journal titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

This video explains the different sections of a scholarly journal article. (Note: this video was created for the mental health counseling program by former BVU Librarian Jackie AlSaffar, but it also applies to this school counseling class).