Research Guides: MGMT 410 Organization Theory: APA style

APA Citations & Formatting

This research guide on APA format should answer many questions on APA formatting and citations.

You can also use the resources listed below.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Available at "Ask Me" desk
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

APA Style Blog
If you need to get into the fine details of APA Style, this is a good source to check for help.
APA color-coded examples
APA shows some basic citations with each element color-coded so that you can learn exactly what is needed to cite articles, books and book chapters
Avoiding Plagiarism Handout
This two-page document from the APA is a good reminder of what needs to be cited so that you can avoid being accused of plagiairsm.

Citing C hatGPT and AI in APA format

This entry from the APA Style blog gives some examples of how to cite information from ChatGPT or other AI sources.

Color-coded APA citations from Northwest Missouri State Library
The B.C. Owens Library at NWMS provides a more extensive list of color-coded APA citations, including web pages, media, e-books and more.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Less well-known than Purdue OWL, but just as useful and with fewer advertisements.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This well-known webpage provides easy--to-follow instructions on formatting your paper and citing your sources in proper APA style.

MLA style

MLA Citations (9th ed.)
by Jodie Morin Last Updated Oct 23, 2024 67 views this year

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Ref Desk LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603295628
Publication Date: 2021-05-20
The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources. *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples

The MLA web site shows how to format your paper, how to create in-text citations and Works Cited entries.

Other helpful sources include

Purdue Owl, MLA format

Purdue Owl vidcast about MLA citations. While this video is based on the 8th edition of MLA Style, everything covered in this video applies to the 9th edition as well. This video lecture is about 12 minutes long and covers basic information about citing books and journal articles. This will be very helpful to new users of MLA format.

Excelsior Online Writing Lab has tabs for both 8th and 9th edition.

Getting citations from databases

To use the citation tool in any Ebsco database.

Click the title of your article in your search results to see the full description of the article. This page will have the article abstract (summary).
In the tool bar arranged horizontally in the upper right click the quotation mark icon.
Scroll through the list to find the citation style you want. MLA, APA and Chicago are the styles most commonly used at BVU. Ask your professor which style to use if you aren't sure.
Copy and paste the citation into your document.
Check for accuracy! Capitalization of all words in an article or chapter title in APA style commonly requires editing. (In the example above, only the words Multi and Optimal should be capitalized in the article title.)