Research Guides: BIOL120: Introduction to Cellular and Human Physiology: Finding Articles

Finding Articles using Library Databases

The databases listed below are your best bet for finding magazine and scholarly journal articles on your topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
The Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, and microbiology.. Full-text is available for some articles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
For the researcher looking for more scholarly medical and health information, this database provides access to over 550 full-text nursing and medical journals.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Covers sports, sports medicine, and exercise science journals and magazines.
Contains >1 million articles, with >25% full text coverage. Access limited to four simultaneous users.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Free government database for all things medical.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations from current biomedical journals. Topics covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

Journal of the American Medical Society (JAMA) is a weekly medical publication. Current issues of JAMA and its related publications may not have full-text available, but many articles will have some full-text available. Articles are written for medical professionals. Note: Academic Search Premier includes articles written in JAMA, but does not provide full-text of those articles.
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is also a weekly medical publication, written for medical professionals. Articles in the current issues that are available are marked as "free." Note: Academic Search Premier includes articles written in NEJM, but does not provide full-text of those articles.
Quanta Magazine focuses on developments in mathematics, theoretical physics, theoretical computer science and the basic life sciences.
Science News is an American bi-weekly magazine devoted to new scientific and technical developments. Note: Academic Search Premier includes articles written in Science News AND provide full-text of those articles.
Scientific American is a popular science magazine that includes health and medical-related stories within. Current issues are available in print at the BVU Library and at many public libraries.