Research Guides: Counseling Research Guide: Finding articles by SUBJECT

Finding articles by SUBJECT

Scholarly articles are the primary means in which new information is communicated in the counseling field, so knowing how to find journal articles is critical to your success as a graduate student.

Usually you will approach looking for an article by SUBJECT.

Google: A familiar (but not an optimal) tool for research

To find articles by SUBJECT you can use Google or Google Scholar. These are familiar tools and you WILL almost certainly get results, however...

Your results may be difficult to determine if they are from a respected journal or a publication that is questionable.
You may have so many results that it is difficult to narrow down your results to those that are most relevant.
Or you may run up against paywalls to get to the full-text.

BVU Library Databases

The BVU Library provides DATABASES that allow you find articles from respected sources AND also provide a number of ways to narrow down your search and will help you generate citations to the resources. Some of the DATABASES you may use throughout your Clinical Mental Health Counseling program include:

Academic Search Complete - contains a critial mass of important counseling journals. Link to the database below.
PsycTHERAPY-provides video of counseling sessions, so you can see how certain theories and techniques are used by professional counselors.

Students in the Professional School Counseling program will find education databases useful, in addition to Academic Search Complete and PsycTHERAPY. For articles written from the education point of view, try...

ERIC - link to the database is below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for all education researchers.
PsycTHERAPY This link opens in a new window
APA’s streaming video platform provides clinicians, counselors, instructors, and trainees the opportunity to sharpen their skills by observing candid, unscripted psychotherapy sessions featuring renowned therapists. This proven training method is an invaluable tool for learning and remaining abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. All entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. Coverage is from 1985 (Volume 9) to the present. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text on all American Psychological Association journal publications--approximately 50 journal titles.
Psychology (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Psychology includes the full text of 34 journals covering the areas of applied psychology, child development, clinical psychology, cognitive psychology, counseling psychology, cross-cultural psychology, developmental psychology, educational psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, personality, school psychology, and social psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Most publications covered here are peer-reviewed.