The BVU Catalog provides a way to see the books, e-books, articles and online videos (mostly documentaries) we have available for you to use.
If you use the search option with a single search box, your search will default to the material held by the BVU Library.
If you use the Advanced Search option with three search boxes, your search will include other libraries and show you material that might not be readily available.
Users can change this setting to expand their search or to restrict it to what is available locally. This option is most easily accessed in the left column of your search results, under "Held by Library," as shown below.
No one library can have everything, but many libraries willingly swap and share their collections!
Interlibrary loan services (see that tab on the left side for more detail) is the mechanism that we use to request books from other libraries. If you do NOT limit your search to BVU Library as directed in the box above, you are seeing material available from other libraries worldwide.
Click on the title of any search result to go to the DETAILED RECORD screen. You'll see a box in the upper right with your ACCESS OPTIONS for that item. If it is not available locally, you can request the item through INTERLIBRARY LOAN. Click the highlighted button in the illustration below to place your request.
Here are some specific books about the study of literature that you may want to consult for definitions, etc.
BVU Location: Ref PN 41 .M42 1995
A rich source of information about the world's finest literature. Over 10,000 entries and 250 illustrations covering authors, works, and literary terms and topics from all eras and all parts of the world. Includes pronunciations.
BVU location: Ref PN 524 .R44 2003 (v. 1 and v. 2)
Historical in scope, the "Reference Guide to World Literature includes biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature. Covering writers from the ancient Greeks to 20th-century authors, each author entry provides a detailed overview of the writer's life and works. Work entries cover a particular piece of world literature in detail.
BVU location: Ref PN 44.5 .Q56 1999
In clear, succinct, non-technical language, this new dictionary of more than 850 terms expands upon the definition of "literary." . It's a must-have reference for the interdisciplinary world of contemporary literary studies. Features include: -- Newly created definitions and examples of standard literary and related terms -- Essays on major themes in literature -- Terms related to Third World and feminist literature -- Major contemporary theoretical terms.
For those who prefer an electronic tool to find their definitions, try Credo Reference. It isn't specialized in any one area, but contains the contents of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in all areas.