Research Guides: PSYC210 Developmental Psychology: Locating peer-reviewed articles

Locating peer-reviewed articles

Library databases make it clear which articles are peer-reviewed, which is an advantage to searching for articles in Google.

In the PsycINFO or PsycARTICLES databases, searchers can limit their search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals by using the check-box that appears under your search windows while you are setting up your search...

Or, if you've already done the search and need to narrow down the number of results, the peer-reviewed checkbox appears in the left column with other options to narrow your search.

Psychology and Education databases available

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text on all American Psychological Association journal publications--approximately 50 journal titles.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for all education researchers.
Psychology (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Psychology includes the full text of 34 journals covering the areas of applied psychology, child development, clinical psychology, cognitive psychology, counseling psychology, cross-cultural psychology, developmental psychology, educational psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, personality, school psychology, and social psychology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.