GENS140 Where Have all the Icebergs Gone?: Issues in the Environment

The BVU Library maintains a number of databases that are designed to help you find articles by topic.  For this class you'll be searching for POPULAR articles, not scholarly or research-oriented articles.  These articles should be at least 1000 words in length.  Here are some databases you can use to help you find popular articles on your topic.

Newspaper databases

 *NYT tip: There is a special section of the New York Times for articles of interest to this class.  

1. Click on the three horizontal lines ("the hamburger") in the upper left of the New York Times web page.
2. Scroll down to the "Science" section.
3. Select "Climate and Environment" and browse for articles.

You can also click on the magnifying glass in the upper left to open a search box and type in anything you want.  This will search all the back issues of the New York Times, too.

Magazine databases

These databases contain a mix of scholarly, research articles and more general interest articles.  For this class, you don't want articles that are discussing new research and describing studies that the authors have done.  Here are some of the magazines that Professor Lawson approves, other magazines may need her approval.

• Scientific American (use Academic Search Complete database to identify articles published in this journal)
• Discover (use Bio Science, PDF for articles one year ago and older, current issues available in print at BVU Library)
• National Geographic, (use Bio Science, full text available in print at BVU Library)
• Smithsonian ( use Bio Science)

Web News

BBC News  Notice the "Science" section link in the red banner.

CNN  Click on "U.S." to find sub-sections on "Energy + Environment," "Extreme Weather" or "Science + Space"

Since you want to concentrate your search on particular magazines and newspapers, structure your search as shown below so that you have to do less sorting.

North Central NewsStream

Biological Science Collection