Research Guides: History 100: Finding articles in history databases

Finding articles in history databases

Articles can be used in historical research as

Primary sources, written at the time of the event (for example, a newspaper articles about the Apollo Moon landing, written in July 1969.)
Scholarly articles, written after the event, that offers a deeper analysis than just a timeline of events (for example, an article about 9/11 and the World Trade Center collapse on the 20-year anniversary of the event.)
Indicators of books that have been published on the topic. Many of these publications provide book reviews that can help you identify books on your topic.

Databases can help you identify the articles that are most relevant. Here are just a few of our history databases.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text online backfiles of core scholarly journals on many subjects. JSTOR's full-text coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present.
Project MUSE Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Our Academic Site License provides full access to the New York Times, 1851-present. Access to the International New York Times and the New York Times in Chinese is also available. Users must register individually using a bvu.edu email address, which provides access for 364 days.