BVU users need to create their own account for the NYT with the Academic Pass program.
Step 1. Find the New York Times on the A-Z Database list.
Step 2. Click on the New York Times link to begin setting up your account.
Step 3. Click on "Create Account" button.
Step 4. Enter your BVU email address and a password that you can remember.
Step 5. You'll get a message to check your email for a message from NYTimes.com. Open that email and click the link in the email to verify your account.
Step 6. If your email address is verified, you'll be returned to the NYTimes page where you will select either a Student or Faculty/Staff account.
Students should select their expected graduation year and then click the Sign Up button. If you have faculty or staff status, just click the "Sign Up" button. Your student account will be active until Dec. 31 of your anticipated graduation year. Faculty and staff will need to renew their accounts every year.
Step 7. If you want to access the NYTimes from your cellular device, a QR code shows up on one of the "introduction screens." You can also download a free app to the NYT where you normally get apps at any time.
The introduction screens also allow you to customize newsletters and alerts that the NYT emails to you. If you prefer, this customization can be easily done anytime from the "Account" link in the upper right corner of the NYT screen or skipped entirely.
Step 8. Test your account by going to nytimes.com and clicking on Account link in upper right corner to see if you are recognized.
Once your account is created, simply log in to the New York Times for free and unlimited access to current articles. You can access the NY Times either through the library A-Z database page OR just type in nytimes.com in your web browser. Your account should be recognized either way.
To customize articles that are sent to you, including breaking news and daily headlines, go to Account in the upper right corner, then "Account Settings" and then "Email and Settings" and then "Newsletters" to select the content that interests you.
To find previously published articles, click on the magnifying glass icon in the upper left to search past issues of the newspaper.
Hathi Trust (Pronounced "hottie")
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. BVU is NOT a partner institution, so we are unable to access the full collection, but there are still thousands of digitized resources available.
Digital Public Library of America
Makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
Library of Congress Digital Collections (formerly American Memory Project)
The Library serves as the research arm of Congress and is recognized as the national library of the United States. Its collections comprise the world's most comprehensive record of human creativity and knowledge. LoC has millions of books and printed materials, maps, manuscripts, photographs, films, audio and video recordings, prints and drawings, and other special collections.
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-2000)
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Some more recent information is still classified and is not yet available.
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Avalon Project: 20th Century Documents
Long list of treaties and legal information available from Yale Law School.
Public Papers of the Presidents
Papers of Hoover through Obama are available online. Earlier presidential papers are available in print only.
History Matters: A U.S. History Survey Course on the Web
This joint project between City University of New York and George Mason University allows searching for digital collections across the web to find primary documents in libraries, musuems, etc. Resources are annotated, so strengths and weaknesses of collections should be readily apparent.
The BVU Catalog can provide access to many materials that may be considered primary resources. Look for these words used in the book description to identify if the book is a primary, secondary or tertiary source.
| Primary Sources | Secondary Sources | Tertiary Sources |
|---|---|---|
| Autobiography | Biography | Encyclopedias |
| Correspondence or Letters | Analysis | Almanacs |
| Speeches | Dissertation | Chronologies |
| Diaries | Timeline | |
| Interviews | Dictionary | |
| Archives | ||
| Personal narratives |
These same words can be used to identify primary sources that exist OUTSIDE the BVU Library Collection. To see what books have been published on your topic that are owned by other libraries, check the BVU Library catalog, and change the "Held by Library" option to "Libraries Worldwide." Items you identify here can often by obtained through interlibrary loan.
