Research Guides: Exercise Science &amp; Kinesiology research guide: Background information

Understanding Medical Terms--Web Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Entries in Credo Reference could range from a short definition in a medical dictionary to a fuller, more detailed entry from a medical encyclopedia.

These online medical dictionaries provide short definitions of medical and health terms, so that you can fully understand what you are reading.

Online Medical Dictionary

Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary

Medterms Medical Dictionary

Need a bit more detail than a definition? Try these free online sources

Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia

Wikipedia is an online free-content encyclopedia. Keep in mind that Wikipedia entries vary in quality. Resources cited in the bibliography of an entry could also lead you to helpful resources.

Understanding Medical Terms - Print and Book Resources

Mosby's Medical Dictionary by Mosby
Call Number: Ref R 121 .M89 2022
ISBN: 9780323639156
Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Make sense of complex medical terms with this comprehensive reference! Mosby's Medical Dictionary, 11th Edition includes more than 56,000 authoritative definitions along with 2,450 illustrations - that's twice the number of images found in other medical dictionaries.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
Call Number: Ref R 121 .D73 2020
ISBN: 9781455756438
Publication Date: 2019-12-09
Trusted by generations of healthcare personnel at every professional level, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary remains today's most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary. The thoroughly updated 33rd Edition is an ideal resource for medical and allied health professionals, students in all healthcare disciplines, medical writers, editors, transcriptionists, coders, researchers, attorneys, and more - as well as those working in government agencies and healthcare management.
Gray's Anatomy by Henry Gray
Call Number: Ref QM 23 .G7 1987
ISBN: 0517652935
Publication Date: 1988-11-23
Presents a definite description of the structures and relationships of the human organs and body systems.

NCBI Bookshelf

The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare at this online site. Since most search results will be from books, this resource tends to provide background information, but citations to research articles may be included in your search results.

Exercise Science & Kinesiology research guide

Library contact information

Understanding Medical Terms--Web Resources

Understanding Medical Terms - Print and Book Resources