Email: library@bvu.edu
Text us: 712-794-4288
Chat online with a BVU Librarian
Schedule an appointment with a BVU librarian
(This can be an electronic meeting or F2F)
Links to North American and European historical primary documents, compiled for you by the librarians at Reference User's Services Association of the American Library Association. Sorry, no Asian, African, or Australian sites included here.
Provides a collection of digital resources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
A preservation repository with millions of volumes digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and HathiTrust’s partner institutions. Approximately one-third of the volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed in their entirety.
Contact information and links to the web sites of all 50 state archives.
This site helps researchers identify what archival collections contain the material they seek. Items are not available electronically, but serious researchers could ask for copies or travel to archives and conduct research there themselves.
Iowa Heritage Digital Collection provides to archival collections all over the state. Content ranges from maps to photographs to biographies.
Past issues of newspapers are great primary sources. Finding local papers, especially older issues, can be difficult. The State Historical Society of Iowa encourages the digitization of hometown newspapers. A few different programs are listed on this page.
Another way to browse for older digitized newspapers is to consult the public library website of the town's newspaper. Sometimes, records and digitized content for the whole county might be available at the public library in the county seat. For example, the Storm Lake Public Library has a way to search for historical newspapers throughout Buena Vista County.
Foreign Relations of the United States, the official diplomatic history of the U.S. This set covers the Lincoln administration through the Clinton Administration.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S. Hoover - Obama are digitized and available on this site.
Need help? Email library@bvu.edu or chat with a BVU Librarian.
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com