Research Guides: ENTR101 Entrepreurship & Ideation: Newspapers

Newspapers

Newspapers can be important sources of information because they are

Current (published daily or weekly)
Provide an historical record (what happened last week, last month, last year, ten years ago?)
May provide details such as names, statistics, interviews.
Can give you insight to the local business climate and economy now and over time.

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is known for its business journalism and its coverage of global markets, politics, world news, technology, arts and life. Articles from the last four years are available.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Our Academic Site License provides full access to the New York Times, 1851-present. Access to the International New York Times and the New York Times in Chinese is also available. Users must register individually using a bvu.edu email address, which provides access for 364 days.
North Central Newsstream This link opens in a new window
North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Notable newspaper titles include USA Today, the Denver Post, the Star Tribune, and the Des Moines Register.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 English language full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. Radio and network news transcripts are also included in the database. Eight Iowa newspapers are included in this database.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

For Storm Lake newspapers, the Storm Lake Public Library has a database of digitized newspapers published in Buena Vista County. Most recent newspapers available are from 2018. This may provide some local people for you to contact with questions. The BVU Library keeps the last 3-6 months of the Storm Lake Times Pilot.

Newspapers available for free to BVU students--WSJ

Buena Vista University has a site license so that everyone on campus can access the Wall Street Journal electronically. You must set up an account and have it verified before you can access the WSJ. These steps can be done in just a few minutes. Once your account is created, you can download the WSJ app to your phone, subscribe to specialized newsletters or search the contents of the newspaper.

Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal is known for its coverage of business news. To create an account...

Step 1. Go to https://education.wsj.com/search-students/

Step 2. Select "Buena Vista University" from the list of academic partners.

Step 3. Create your account on the registration page. You must use your BVU email address.

Step 4. You'll receive a confirmation email from Dow Jones/WSJ

For future access, simply go to wsj.com and click on 'Sign In" button located in the upper right.

To search for articles published over the past four years, click on the magnifying glass in the upper left.