Research Guides: IDST400 Challenges for the 21st Century: Articles on my topic

Articles on my topic

What are databases?

Databases are huge collections of information. When librarians speak of "databases," they are thinking of a resource you can use to identify specific information on your topic. Often the database will collect information based on a common subject specialization or format. The information in the database can include the title, authors, date published, the journal that published it, the article summary (or abstract), and other important identifiers.

To access the list of BVU databases, go to the A-Z Database List, or click the "Find Articles" link in the left column of the BVU Library web page.

Our list of databases can be browsed alphabetically, by subject, or by the formats of material they cover. Most of the time you will be best served by looking at the subject breakdown of databases that best that fits your topic.

If you are unsure which category to use, start in the "Multidisciplinary" category or try this general database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.

Articles can also be found by using our "Discovery Search Box" at the top of the BVU Library web page. The number of results may be overwhelming and you may notice duplicate entries. For more precise searching, select one of our databases on the A-Z database page. Some library assignments may also recommend that you use a specific database to locate articles.