Email: library@bvu.edu
Text us: 712-794-4288
Chat online with a BVU Librarian
Schedule an appointment with a BVU librarian
(This can be an electronic meeting or F2F)
As college students you have access to a wide variety of scholarly databases. Once you graduate from BVU that access ends. This is not the choice of the university, but is part of our license agreement with the database providers.
To fill this gap, many "open access" databases are now available for anyone with an internet connection to search. We've incorporated many of these OA databases into our holdings. No log-in is needed. Full-text may be partially available.
These may not be the ideal databases for you to use right now, but they are listed here for your convenience and research needs post-graduation.
Useful for agbusiness, applied economics and trade topics especially in the field of agriculture. Policy papers and conference presentations are included along with open access journal articles.
Covers articles published in open access bioscience journals in developing countries.
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Open access articles, patents, grants and proceedings in all fields, but with a heavy emphasis in the sciences.
The Directory of Open Access Books is a large collection of academic peer-reviewed books that are open access. All subject areas represented, but holdings are strongest in sciences and social sciences.
Provides full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly peer reviewed journals in many subjects and languages.
Provides a collection of digital resources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments, 1976 - present.
JURN is designed to help you find free academic articles and books in the arts and humanities, selected university full-text repositories and many additional ejournals in the sciences, biomedicine, business and law.
OAIster serves as a search portal for digital collections of electronic books, online journals, audio and image files, and movies provided by the research library community.
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
With PQDT Open, you can read the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
Over 18,000 online texts of "light literature" (fables, stories), "heavy literature" (religious texts, classic literature from many periods), and reference works.
PubAg is the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Library's (NAL) search system for agricultural information. PubAg contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles on all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, and agricultural economic and policy issues,
Free government database for all things medical.
SpringerOpen covers over 200 journals published by Springer of academic, peer-reviewed open access articles that are primary in the sciences, but some social science areas are also represented.
SSOAR : Social Science Open Access Repository provides growing holdings of freely available, full-text social science documents.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research. From its initial focus on the social sciences in 1994, SSRN has grown to become the most interdisciplinary service of its kind, representing disciplines across the full research spectrum, including the applied sciences, health sciences, humanities, life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Need help? Email library@bvu.edu or chat with a BVU Librarian.
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com