Research Guides: SCWK/SOCI270 Family Relationships: Beginning library research

Your topic idea

Getting started is the hardest part

Choosing a topic can be a hurdle. Here are some ways to make that decision.

Browse through your textbook or notes. What topics interest you or what class discussions did you enjoy most?
Talk it over with your classmates or with students who have already taken the class to get their feedback.
Your professor can also help guide you. Make an appointment and visit during his or her office hours!
Read and listen widely. Browse newspapers and podcasts for topics that interest you.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Create an account with your BVU email as a username and your choice of a password. Once created, you can access the NYT anytime, search the complete archives and have headlines emailed to you daily.

Use these databases to scan a list of current controversial topics. Links with each essay may lead you to some articles (both scholarly and popular) as well. Most of the resources listed are NOT scholarly articles and many are opinion-based, but these can be useful for sparking your own ideas and forming your own arguments.

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

Beginning library research

A few minutes invested in "pre-research" can make your entire research process more efficient!

Pre-research can be done by reading a few encyclopedia articles about your topic idea. Why?

Encyclopedias are written by experts. You'll want to use the same terms that they use to talk about your idea.
Background infoarmation and context is usually covered and its more succinct than reading an entire book!
Encyclopedia articles will mention the important people and events that could be useful in helping you identify additional information.
The way the encyclopedia article lays out the information may suggest a logical way to narrow down this topic, which is a step that is often needed to keep student's work focused. College professors tend to prefer depth as opposed to breadth.

Databases to check for pre-research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
This collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP) provides encyclopedia articles on all aspects of social work.. ACCESS LIMITED TO ONE USER AT A TIME.