Research Guides: SCWK/SOCI270 Family Relationships: Finding journal articles

Finding Articles

What are databases?

Databases are huge collections of information. When librarians speak of "databases," they are thinking of a resource you can use to identify specific information on your topic. Often the database will collect information based on a common subject specialization or format. The information in the database can include the title, authors, date published, the journal that published it, the article summary (or abstract), and other important identifiers.

To access the list of BVU databases, go to the A-Z Database List, or click the "Find Articles" link in the left column of the BVU Library web page.

Our list of databases can be browsed alphabetically, by subject, or by the formats of material they cover. Most of the time you will be best served by looking at the subject breakdown of databases that best that fits your topic.

If you are unsure which category to use, start in the "Multidisciplinary" category or try this general database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.

Articles can also be found by using our "Discovery Search Box" at the top of the BVU Library web page. The number of results may be overwhelming and you may notice duplicate entries. For more precise searching, select one of our databases on the A-Z database page. Some library assignments may also recommend that you use a specific database to locate articles.

Databases for Family Relationship topics (Scholarly)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides a robust collection of high-quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. More than 600 journals are scanned for content and full text is provided for more than 240 journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an authoritative database of education literature and resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for all education researchers.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the core social work and human services literature, providing indexing and abstracts for >450 journals. The database is updated rather slowly.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides articles from over 1,000 business publications and company profiles from over 10,000 companies.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
For the researcher looking for more scholarly medical and health information, this database provides access to over 550 full-text nursing and medical journals.

Databases for Family Relationship Topics (Authoritative, but non-scholarly)

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Our Academic Site License provides full access to the New York Times, 1851-present. Access to the International New York Times and the New York Times in Chinese is also available. Users must register individually using a bvu.edu email address, which provides access for 364 days.
North Central Newsstream This link opens in a new window
North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Notable newspaper titles include USA Today, the Denver Post, the Star Tribune, and the Des Moines Register.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 English language full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. Radio and network news transcripts are also included in the database. Eight Iowa newspapers are included in this database.