Research Guides: HIST342 Exploring the Holocaust : Finding scholarly articles

Databases for identifying history articles

BVU Databases

Most of the databases listed below will tend to retrieve SECONDARY sources.

When searching for a topic try different search terms to insure you get the best results. For example: if the term ‘Nazi’ doesn't retrieve many results, try searching for ‘National Socialism' instead.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals with a multidisciplinary focus. Over 3,000 journals are available with full-text. Abstracts without full-text are offered for articles published in over 8,000 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.

Databases for finding PRIMARY Sources

Using Databases to find PRIMARY Sources

These databases will help you identify PRIMARY (or eyewitness) sources. Newspaper articles written at the time of the event are PRMARY sources. Films or newsreels that are produced during the time period you are covering could also be PRMARY sources. Video documentaries may have short clips embedded in them that are primary sources, but most of these are either secondary or tertiary sources.

London Times, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Our Academic Site License provides full access to the New York Times, 1851-present. Access to the International New York Times and the New York Times in Chinese is also available. Users must register individually using a bvu.edu email address, which provides access for 364 days.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video documentaries from a variety of producers and broadcasters on all subjects..
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO, California Newsreel, and more. No account is necessary for on-campus search. Click on "Search" or "Browse" to select a movie.