The weekly newspaper that higher education depends on is now available to all BVU faculty, staff and students. This site provides access to these features:
BVU users need to create their own account for the NYT with the Academic Pass program.
Step 1. Find the New York Times on the A-Z Database list.
Step 2. Click on the New York Times link to begin setting up your account.
Step 3. Click on "Create Account" button.
Step 4. Enter your BVU email address and a password that you can remember.
Step 5. You'll get a message to check your email for a message from NYTimes.com. Open that email and click the link in the email to verify your account.
Step 6. If your email address is verified, you'll be returned to the NYTimes page where you will select either a Student or Faculty/Staff account.
Students should select their expected graduation year and then click the Sign Up button. If you have faculty or staff status, just click the "Sign Up" button. Your student account will be active until Dec. 31 of your anticipated graduation year. Faculty and staff will need to renew their accounts every year.
Step 7. If you want to access the NYTimes from your cellular device, a QR code shows up on one of the "introduction screens." You can also download a free app to the NYT where you normally get apps at any time.
The introduction screens also allow you to customize newsletters and alerts that the NYT emails to you. If you prefer, this customization can be easily done anytime from the "Account" link in the upper right corner of the NYT screen or skipped entirely.
Step 8. Test your account by going to nytimes.com and clicking on Account link in upper right corner to see if you are recognized.
Once your account is created, simply log in to the New York Times for free and unlimited access to current articles. You can access the NY Times either through the library A-Z database page OR just type in nytimes.com in your web browser. Your account should be recognized either way.
To customize articles that are sent to you, including breaking news and daily headlines, go to Account in the upper right corner, then "Account Settings" and then "Email and Settings" and then "Newsletters" to select the content that interests you.
To find previously published articles, click on the magnifying glass icon in the upper left to search past issues of the newspaper.
The Wall Street Journal is known for its coverage of business news. To create an account...
Step 1. Go to https://education.wsj.com/search-students/
Step 2. Select "Buena Vista University" from the list of academic partners.
Step 3. Create your account on the registration page. You must use your BVU email address.
Step 4. You'll receive a confirmation email from Dow Jones/WSJ
For future access, simply go to wsj.com and click on 'Sign In" button located in the upper right.
To search for articles published over the past four years, click on the magnifying glass in the upper left.
The BVU Library partners with Swank to allow classroom use of major motion pictures. Nearly all of your box office favorites are here!
The BVU Swank portal will allow you to browse the titles available. To place a request for a film, faculty must create an account. Requests are approved by the Library Director so that we stay within the guidelines of our license allotments. All licenses are for one year. Our current license allows us to license up to 25 films at any one time. Please allow at least 48 hours for your request to be cleared before you make the film available to your students.
We also maintain access to the following streaming video collections. The content listed below is readily available to students. Swank content is NOT available to students except through their class. The contents of these streaming video databases are searchable in the library catalog and appear with links to view the content.
This is a collection of over 23,000 e-books and audiobooks. The collection is made available through the joint purchasing power of over 40 academic libraries in Missouri and Iowa.
Overdrive is the company that produces the Libby app and markets this software.
Libby is the app on your phone that you will use to access the collection once you've completed setting up your account.
MOBIUS Consortium is the name of the collection shared between more than 40 academic libraries in Missouri and Iowa. Another collection, available through the Storm Lake Public Library, is called Bridges. There may be some overlap, but these are two distinct collections of e-books and audiobooks.
Do you already use the Libby app with another library? To add this collection, open Libby, click on the three lines at the center bottom of the phone screen, click “Add Library” and add Mobius Consortium, Buena Vista University.