Library Resources for Faculty

What is the MOBIUS Consortium?

      This is a collection of over 23,000 e-books and audiobooks.  The collection is made available through the joint purchasing power of over 40 academic libraries in Missouri and Iowa.

Some helpful definitions to begin

Overdrive is the company that produces the Libby app and markets this software.

Libby is the app on your phone that you will use to access the collection once you've completed setting up your account.

MOBIUS Consortium is the name of the collection shared between more than 40 academic libraries in Missouri and Iowa.  Another collection, available through the Storm Lake Public Library, is called Bridges.  There may be some overlap, but these are two distinct collections of e-books and audiobooks.

Directions for setting up access to MOBIUS Consortium

1. Download the Libby app (Libby, by Overdrive).  This is what makes the collection accessible.  Libby is available for free from the Apple App Store, Google Play, the Amazon Appstore or at www. libbyapp.com
2.  Once downloaded, open the Libby app and locate “Buena Vista University.”  The instructions indicate that you will need a library card, but the BVU account requires only a valid BVU username and password.  Click “Yes” when prompted for a library card. We are a part of the MOBIUS Consortium.  You’ll find Buena Vista University listed as a member of that collection.
3.  Search for your next read!  This collection contains fiction and nonfiction, in audio and e-book formats. Use the filters to browse a collection or use the magnifying glass icon to search for specific titles or authors.

Already a Libby user?

         Do you already use the Libby app with another library?  To add this collection, open Libby, click on the three lines at the center bottom of the phone screen, click “Add Library” and add Mobius Consortium, Buena Vista University.