APA Citations (7th ed.)

he books category includes:

• Authored books
• Edited books
• Anthologies
• Religious works
• Classical works

The reference work category includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and diagnostic manuals.

For a chapter in an authored book, create a reference for the whole book and provide the chapter number within the in-text citation only.

Note that not all examples are represented here. Please see pp. 321-325 of the manual for more examples.

• Always include a DOI when one is available.
• If there is no DOI and the book has a nondatabase URL, include the URL in place of the DOI.
• If you do not have a DOI or URL, end the reference entry after the publication information.

Dell, K. J. (2023). The theology of the book of Proverbs. Cambridge University Press.

Learoyd, J., & Bryan, K. (2024). Working with adults with communication difficulties in the criminal justice system: A practical guide for speech and language therapists. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003288701

Parenthetical citations: (Dell, 2023; Learoyd & Bryan, 2024)

Narrative citations: Dell (2023) and Learoyd and Bryan (2024)

• For audiobooks, include the narrator and audiobook notation if the content is different than other formats, if you want to note something special about the audiobook (e.g., the impact of narration on the listener), or if you quote form the audiobook.

Christian, B., & Griffiths, T. (2016). Algorithms to live by: The computer science of human decisions. Henry Holt and Co. http://a.co/7qGBZAk

Gottman, J., & Gottman, J. S. (2022). The love prescription: Seven days to more intimacy, connection, and joy (J. P. Cronin & K. Sandy, Narrs.) [Audiobook]. Random House Audio. https://www.penguinrandomhouseaudio.com/book/671989/the-love-prescription/

Parenthetical citations: (Christian & Griffiths, 2016; Gottman & Gottman, 2022)

Narrative citations: Christian and Griffiths (2016) and Gottman and Gottman (2022)

• When a book has multiple publishers, separate the publisher names using semicolons.

Nicoladis, E., & Montanari, S. (Eds.). (2016). Bilingualism across the lifespan: Factors moderating language proficiency. American Psychological Association; De Gruyter Mouton.

Rice, M. F., & Dunn, M. (Eds.). (2024). Inclusive online and distance education for learners with dis/abilities: Promoting accessibility and equity. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003412076

Parenthetical citations: (Ncioladis & Montanari, 2016; Rice & Dunn, 2024)

Narrative citations: Nicoladis and Montanari (2016) and Rice and Dunn (2024)

• If the new version has been edited and/or translated from the original, provide the name(s) of the editor(s) and/or translator(s) after the title in parentheses.
• If an audiobook was released in a different year than the text version of the book, treat the audiobook as republished.

Jung, C. G. (1968). Man and his symbols. Dell Publishing Company. (Original work published 1964)

Rowling, J. K. (2015). Harry Potter and the sorcerer's stone (J. Dale, Narr.) [Audiobook]. Pottermore Publishing. http://bit.ly.2TcHchx (Original work published 1997)

Parenthetical citations: (Jung, 1968; Rowling, 2015)

Narrative citations: Jung (1968) and Rowling (2015)

• If the volume has both series editors (or editors-in-chief) and volume editors, only the volume editors appear in the reference.
• If you have an untitled volume, you would include the volume number after the edition of the book, within the same parentheses, and before the page numbers.
• If the volume has its own title, include the volume number and title after the main title in italics.

Taber, K. S., & Akpan, B. B. (2017). Science education: An international course companion (Vol. 31). Brill | Sense. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6300-749-8

Travis, C. B., & White, J. W., Rutherford, A., Williams, W. S., Cook, S. L., & Wyche, K. F. (Eds.). (2018). APA handbook of the psychology of women: Vol. 2 Perspectives on women's private and public lives. American Psychological Assocation. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000060-000

Parenthetical citations: (Taber & Akpan, 2017; Travis et al.,18)

Narrative citations: Taber and Akpan (2017) and Travis et al. (2018)

• When the author and publisher are the same, omit the publisher from the source element.
• It is common, but not required, to identify the title (and edition) of a diagnostic manual in the text. Group authors and manual titles can be abbreviated in the text but not in the reference list.
• Generally, include a citation for a manual the first time it is mentioned in the text.
• Do not repeat the citation for subsequent general mention of a manual. Repeat a citation only when it directly supports a statement (e.g., quoting, paraphrasing).

American Psychiatric Association. (2022). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed., text rev.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425787

Parenthetical citation with abbreviation included: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th ed., text rev.; DSM-5 TR; American Psychiatric Association, 2022)

Narrative citation with abbreviation included: American Psychiatric Association's (2022) Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th ed., text rev.; DSM-5 TR)

Subsequent parenthetical citations: (American Psychiatric Association, 2022)

Subsequent narrative citations: American Psychiatric Association (2022)

• An entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia may have a group author or individual author.
• When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archived, use "n.d." as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.
• See an example of an archived entry on p. 324 of the manual.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 8, 2023, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/

Zalta, E. N. (Ed.). (2019). The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. Retrieved January 6, 2020, from https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019/

Parenthetical citations: (Merriam-Webster, n.d.; Zalta, 2019)

Narrative citations: Merriam-Webster (n.d.) and Zalta (2019)

King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbible.org/ (Original work published in 1769)

The Qur'an (M. A. S. Abdel Haleem, Trans.). (2004). Oxford University Press.

The Torah: The five books of Moses (3rd ed.). (2015). The Jewish Publication Society. (Original work published 1962)

Parenthetical citations: (King James Bible, 1769/2017; The Qur'an, 2004; The Torah, 1962/2015)

Narrative citations: King James Bible (1769/2017), The Qur'an (2004), and The Torah (1962/2015)

• For ancient Greek or Roman works, include the copyright date of the version used in the date element and the date of the original (ancient) publication in parentheses at the end of the entry.
• When the date of the original publication is approximate, use the abbreviation "ca." (which stands for "circa").
• For other classic works, also include the original publication date in parentheses at the end of the entry.

Aristotle. (1994). On prophesying by dreams (J. I. Beare, Trans.). The Internet Classics Archive. http://classics.mit.edu/Aristotle/prophesying.html (Original work published ca. 350 B.C.E.)

Parenthetical citation: (Aristotle, ca. 350 B.C.E./1994)

Narrative citation: Aristotle (ca. 350 B.C.E./1994)