APA Citations (7th ed.)

The edited book chapter category includes chapters of edited books and works in anthologies. The entries in reference works category includes dictionary, thesaurus, and encyclopedia entries.

The format, platform, or device is not included in the reference for these types of sources.

For a chapter in an authored book, create a reference for the whole book and provide the chapter number within the in-text citation only.

Not all examples are represented here. Please see pp. 326-329 of the manual for more examples.

Cerezo, A., & Ramirez, A. (2022). Navigating new terrain: Sexual and gender diverse college students who are the first in their families to attend college. In D. P. Rivera, R. L. Abreu, & K. A. Gonzalez (Eds.), Affirming LGBTQ+ students in higher education (pp. 161-172). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000281-010

Parenthetical citation: (Cerezo & Ramirez, 2022)

Narrative citation: Cerezo and Ramirez (2022)

Hill, R. (2020). These rivers remember. In J. Harjo, L. Howe, & J. E. Foerster (Eds.), When the light of the world was subdued, our songs came through: A Norton anthology of native nations poetry (pp. 47-48). W. W. Norton & Company.

Parenthetical citation: (Hill, 2020)

Narrative citation: Hill (2020)

• For audiobooks, include the narrator and audiobook notation if the content is different than other formats, if you want to note something special about the audiobook (e.g., the impact of narration on the listener), or if you quote form the audiobook.

Michaud, J. (1997). A portrait of cultural resistance: The confinement of tourism in a Hmong village in Thailand. In M. Picard & R. E. Wood (Eds.), Tourism, ethnicity, and the state in Asian and Pacific societies (pp. 128-154). University of Hawaii Press. https://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/bitstream/handle/10125/24150/Picard%20-%20Tourism,%20Ethnicity.pdf?sequence=1

Parenthetical citation: (Michaud, 1997)

Narrative citation: Michaud (1997)

• If the volume has both series editors (or editors-in-chief) and volume editors, only the volume editors appear in the reference.
• The volume in this example has its own title. If you have an untitled volume, you would include the volume number after the edition of the book, within the same parentheses, and before the page numbers.

Bateson, P. (2015). Ethology and human development. In W. F. Overton, P. C. M. Molenaar, & R. M. Lerner (Eds.), Handbook of child psychology and developmental science: Vol. 1. Theory and method (7th ed., pp. 208-243). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118963418.childpsy106

Parenthetical citation: (Bateson, 2015)

Narrative citation: Bateson (2015)

Lewin, K. (1999). Group decision and social change. In M. Gold (Ed.), The complete social scientist: A Kurt Lewin reader (pp. 265-284). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/10319-010 (Original work published 1948)

Parenthetical citation: (Lewin, 1948/1999)

Narrative citation: Lewin (1948/1999)

• An entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia may have a group author or individual author.
• When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archived, use "n.d." as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.
• See an example of an archived entry on p. 328 of the manual.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Tranquility. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved August 9, 2023 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/tranquility

Comesaña, J., & Klein, P. (2019). Skepticism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy. Stanford University. Retrieved August 9, 2023, from https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/skepticism/

Parenthetical citations: (Merriam-Webster, n.d.; Comesaña & Klein, 2019)

Narrative citations: Merriam-Webster (n.d.) and Comesaña and Klein (2019)